MKW NRW

 

  • Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Bonn
    Prof. Dr Michael Kramer, with Prof. Dr Karl Menten & Prof. Dr Anton Zensus
  • University of Bonn, Argelander Institute for Astronomy
    Prof. Dr Frank Bertoldi, with Prof. Dr Frank Bigiel & Prof. Dr Cristiano Porciani
  • Bonn-Rhine-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
    Prof. Dr André Hinkenjann, with Prof. Dr Ernst Kruijff
  • Ruhr University Bochum
    Prof. Dr Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar, with PD Dr Dominik Bomans & Prof. Dr Hendrik Hildebrandt
  • Dortmund University of Technology
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode, with Dr. Dominik Elsässer
  • Bielefeld University
    Prof. Dr Dominik Schwarz, with Prof. Dr Joris Verbiest
  • University of Cologne: 1st Institute of Physics and Regional Computing Centre
    Prof. Dr Stefanie Walch-Gassner, with Prof. Dr Peter Schilke, Prof. Dr Stephan Schlemmer, Prof. Dr Jürgen Stutzki, Prof. Dr Ulrich Lang, Dr Monica Valencia-Schneider
  • Jülich Research Centre
    Prof. Dr Susanne Pfalzner, with Prof. Dr Thomas Lippert & Dr Thomas Fieseler

Radio astronomical research is a historically grown focus in NRW. The B3D universities and research institutes operate radio astronomical infrastructure and/or data infrastructure, including the Effelsberg, APEX, CCAT-prime/FYST observatories, or are involved in the LOFAR, ALMA, MeerKAT/SKA observatories operated through international cooperation.

The close link between astronomy, IT and data science established with B3D was motivated by a new generation of telescopes and detectors, which also make it necessary to develop new ways and content in the training of the next generation of scientists, as well as to seek a new dimension of global cooperation.

The cluster is intended to combine the strengths of the already strong partners in NRW and put the state in a leading position in the field of data-intensive radio astronomy in order to make the most of the opportunities offered by global efforts.

B3D is closely linked to other initiatives, e.g. the BMBF collaborative research on the radio telescopes ALMA, LOFAR, MeerKAT/SKA, the SFB 876 at TU Dortmund University, which already links astrophysics and computer science, the SFB 956 in Cologne/Bonn and several established graduate schools. None of these successful measures bundles all aspects of the relevant data-intensive radio astronomy in NRW. The formation of a comprehensive profile will provide new impulses in research and development that can be applied far beyond astronomy.

B3D is funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

• Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie, Bonn
    Prof. Dr. Michael Kramer, mit Prof. Dr. Karl Menten & Prof. Dr. Anton Zensus
  • Universität Bonn, Argelander-Institut für Astronomie
    Prof. Dr. Frank Bertoldi, mit Prof. Dr. Frank Bigiel & Prof. Dr. Cristiano Porciani
  • Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
    Prof. Dr. André Hinkenjann, mit Prof. Dr. Ernst Kruijff
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum
    Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar, mit PD Dr. Dominik Bomans & Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hildebrandt
  • Technische Universität Dortmund
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode, mit Dr. Dominik Elsässer
  • Universität Bielefeld
    Prof. Dr. Dominik Schwarz, mit Prof. Dr. Joris Verbiest
  • Universität zu Köln:  1. Physikalisches Institut und Regionales Rechenzentrum
    Prof. Dr. Stefanie Walch-Gassner, mit Prof. Dr. Peter Schilke, Prof. Dr. Stephan Schlemmer, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Stutzki, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Lang, Dr. Monica Valencia-Schneider
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich
    Prof. Dr. Susanne Pfalzner, mit Prof. Dr. Thomas Lippert & Dr. Thomas Fieseler

Die radioastronomische Forschung bildet einen historisch gewachsenen Schwerpunkt in NRW. Die B3D Hochschulen und Forschungsinstitute betreiben radioastronomische Infrastruktur und/oder Dateninfrastruktur, u.a. die Observatorien Effelsberg, APEX, CCAT-prime/FYST, oder sind beteiligt an den durch internationale Kooperationen betriebenen Observatorien LOFAR, ALMA, MeerKAT/SKA.

Die mit B3D etablierte enge Verknüpfung von Astronomie, IT und Datenwissenschaft wurde durch eine neue Generation von Teleskopen und Detektoren motiviert, die es auch erforderlich machen, neue Wege und Inhalte in der Ausbildung des Nachwuchs zu entwickeln sowie eine neue Dimension der globalen Kooperation zu suchen.

Der Cluster soll die Kräfte der schon starken Partner in NRW bündeln und das Land in eine führende Position auf dem Gebiet der datenintensiven Radioastronomie bringen, um die Chancen der globalen Anstrengungen optimal nutzen zu können.

B3D ist eng mit anderen Initiativen verknüpft, z.B. der BMBF-Verbundforschung zu den Radioteleskopen ALMA, LOFAR, MeerKAT/SKA, dem SFB 876 an der TU Dortmund, der bereits Astrophysik und Informatik verknüpft, dem SFB 956 in Köln/Bonn sowie mehreren etablierten Graduiertenschulen. Keine dieser erfolgreichen Maßnahmen bündelt alle Aspekte der relevanten datenintensiven Radioastronomie in NRW. Die Bildung eines umfassenden Profils wird neue Impulse in Forschung und Entwicklung liefern, die weit über die Astronomie hinaus zur Anwendung kommen können.