Research assistants (d/w/m) wanted in research, management, coordination, communication

Big Bang to Big Data is an interdisciplinary cluster in North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany) for research, technology and education in the field of data-intensive radio astronomy. It combines radio astronomy and astrophysics with data science and data technology. We are an association of eight colleges, universities and research institutes in NRW. We are involved in the development, operation and use of leading radio observatories (including ALMA, APEX, Effelsberg, FYST/CCAT-prime, LOFAR, MeerKAT, SKA, SOFIA) and the processing and analysis of their radio data, or contribute data science and data technology expertise. We collaborate with a number of industry partners. Together, we want to create the basis for filtering out the cosmic signals from the enormous data volumes of future radio observatories, also by means of "machine learning" and "artificial intelligence". The linking of radio astronomical research with data science nourishes the exchange between exciting basic research and application-oriented research and thus enables a variety of new fields of work.

B3D is funded by the North Rhine-Westphalian Ministry of Culture and Science from November 2021. We are looking for scientific staff in basic research, development, administration and science communication. The advertised positions are temporary and are to be filled as soon as possible. We are currently recruiting for our new team:

  • Head of the office of the Verein für datenintensive Radioastronomie e.V. (Association for Data-Intensive Radio Astronomy ). (VdR) (MPIfR Bonn; Job advertisement, 31.1.22).
    Tasks: Preparation and follow-up of meetings, content-related support of the Executive Board, acquisition and allocation of funding, chairing meetings, representation of interests.
  • Researcher to support the VdR office (University of Bonn; job advertisement, 31.1.22).
    Tasks: Advising the association members and committees; factual research and answering enquiries; supporting funding initiatives and the establishment of SKA in the National Roadmap Infrastructures; networking; press and public relations work.
  • Technology Transfer Manager (MPIfR, Bonn; Job advertisement, 31.1.22)
    Tasks: Promotion of the initiative to industry, politics, BMBF, DFG, MPG, etc., initiation of cooperation agreements with industry, support in arranging internships, organisation of workshops and conferences.
  • Scientist (research and support) (Bielefeld University; Job advertisement, 31.1.22)
    Tasks: Curriculum development for integrated astronomy and data science graduate education, exploration of synergies between LOFAR and MeerKAT, fundraising support, independent research.
  • Scientist (research and support) (University of Bonn; Job advertisement, 31.1.22)
    Tasks: Support the establishment of a data centre and the development of methods for data transport, access and analysis, with a focus on ALMA and FYST/CCAT-prime.
  • Scientist (research and support) (RU Bochum; Job advertisement, 20.12.21)
    Tasks: Support the establishment of a data centre and the development of methods for data transport, access and analysis, with a focus on LOFAR and MeerKAT.
  • Scientist (research and support) (TU Dortmund)
    Tasks: Coordination of data science activities and method transfer, definition of standards and programme interfaces; development of AI and ML algorithms for radio interferometric reconstruction; integration of astronomical expertise; implementation for specific hardware environments and improvement of resource efficiency.
  • Scientist (research and support) (FZ Jülich; Job advertisement, 20.1.22)
    Tasks: Linking simulation and observation data management, archiving and HPC computing, support in project management and in obtaining funding, independent research.
  • Part-timeResearch Data Manager (University of Cologne, Institute of Astrophysics; Job advertisement, 10.1.22)
    Tasks: Network building, coordination, communication, testing of novel methods with focus on CCAT-prime and SOFIA).
  • Scientist (Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences, Institute for Visual Computing)
    Tasks: Research in the areas of big data analysis and scientific visualisation, application and coordination of third-party funded projects and third-party funding acquisition; networking activities with the other participants of the B3D (from 1.9.2022).

A background in astronomy and/or data science is desirable, but please see the individual advertisements for details of each post. For enquiries about the individual vacancies, please contact the persons listed on this B3D website or write to us: jobs@b3d.nrw. We strongly welcome applications for more than one of the above positions at the same time.

The B3D cluster aims to increase the proportion of people with disabilities in its workforce and therefore invites qualified applicants to apply. In addition, we aim to increase the proportion of women in areas where women are underrepresented and therefore explicitly encourage women to apply. We offer a dual career service.

Further vacancies

To strengthen the activities of the VdR, a professorship (W2) in Big Data and Machine Learning is available at the Berlin University of Applied Sciences in the Department of Computer Science, Communication and Economics from 1 October 2022: Job advertisement.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen (d/w/m) gesucht in Forschung, Leitung, Koordination, Kommunikation

Big Bang to Big Data ist ein interdisziplinärer Cluster in Nordrhein-Westfalen (Deutschland) für Forschung, Technologie und Ausbildung im Bereich der datenintensiven Radioastronomie. Es verbindet Radioastronomie und Astrophysik mit Data Science und Datentechnologie. Wir sind ein Zusammenschluss von acht Hochschulen, Universitäten und Forschungsinstituten in NRW. Wir sind an der Entwicklung, dem Betrieb und der Nutzung führender Radioobservatorien (u.a. ALMA, APEX, Effelsberg, FYST/CCAT-prime, LOFAR, MeerKAT, SKA, SOFIA) und der Bearbeitung und Analyse deren Radiodaten beteiligt oder bringen datenwissenschaftliche und datentechnische Expertise ein. Wir arbeiten mit einer Reihe von Industriepartnern zusammen.  Gemeinsam wollen wir die Grundlage dafür schaffen, aus den enormen Datenmengen zukünftiger Radioobservatorien auch mittels „maschinellem Lernen“ und „künstlicher Intelligenz“ die kosmischen Signale herauszufiltern. Die Verknüpfung von radioastronomischer Forschung mit Datenwissenschaften nährt den Austausch zwischen spannender Grundlagenforschung und anwendungsorientierter Forschung und ermöglicht so eine Vielzahl neuer Arbeitsfelder.

B3D wird vom nordrhein-westfälischen Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft ab November 2021 gefördert. Wir suchen wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen in der Grundlagenforschung, Entwicklung, Verwaltung, und Wissenschaftskommunikation. Die ausgeschriebenen Stellen sind zeitlich befristet und sind so bald wie möglich zu besetzen. Für unser neues Team stellen wir aktuell ein:

  • Leiter*in der Geschäftsstelle des Vereins für datenintensive Radioastronomie e.V.  (VdR) (MPIfR Bonn; Stellenausschreibung, 31.1.22).
    Aufgaben: Vor- und Nachbereitung von Sitzungen, inhaltliche Unterstützung des Vorstands, Akquise und Vergabe von Fördermitteln, Sitzungsleitung, Interessenvertretung.
  • Wissenschaftler*in zur Unterstützung der Geschäftsstelle des VdR (Universität Bonn;  Stellenausschreibung, 31.1.22).
    Aufgaben: Beratung der Vereinsmitglieder und Gremien; Sachrecherche und Beantwortung von Anfragen; Unterstützung von Förderinitiativen und der Etablierung von SKA in der Nationalen Roadmap Infrastrukturen; Netzwerkarbeit; Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.
  • Technologietransfermanager*in (MPIfR, Bonn; Stellenausschreibung, 31.1.22)
    Aufgaben: Werbung für die Initiative bei Industrie, Politik, BMBF, DFG, MPG, etc., Anbahnung von Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit der Industrie, Unterstützung bei der Vermittlung von Praktika, Organisation von Workshops und Konferenzen.
  • Wissenschaftler*in (research and support) (Universität Bielefeld;  Stellenausschreibung, 31.1.22)
    Aufgaben: Curriculumentwicklung für eine integrierte Astronomie- und Datenwissenschaftliche Graduiertenausbildung, Erforschung von Synergien zwischen LOFAR und MeerKAT, Unterstützung von Fundraising, unabhängige Forschung
  • Wissenschaftler*in (research and support) (Universität Bonn;  Stellenausschreibung, 31.1.22)
    Aufgaben: Unterstützung des Aufbaus eines Datenzentrums und der Entwicklung von Methoden für Datentransport, -zugriff und -analyse, mit Schwerpunkt auf ALMA und FYST/CCAT-prime.
  • Wissenschaftler*in (research and support) (RU Bochum;  Stellenausschreibung, 20.12.21)
    Aufgaben: Unterstützung des Aufbaus eines Datenzentrums und der Entwicklung von Methoden für Datentransport, -zugriff und -analyse, mit Schwerpunkt LOFAR und MeerKAT.
  • Wissenschaftler*in (research and support) (TU Dortmund)
    Aufgaben: Koordination von datenwissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten und Methodentransfer, Definition von Standards und Programmschnittstellen; Entwicklung von KI- und ML-Algorithmen für die radiointerferometrische Rekonstruktion; Integration von astronomischem Fachwissen; Implementierung für spezifische Hardwareumgebungen und Verbesserung der Ressourceneffizienz.
  • Wissenschaftler*in (research and support) (FZ Jülich;  Stellenausschreibung, 20.1.22)
    Aufgaben: Verknüpfung von Simulations- und Beobachtungsdatenmanagement, Archivierung und HPC-Computing, Unterstützung im Projektmanagement und bei der Einwerbung von Fördermitteln, eigenständige Forschung.
  • Forschungsdatenmanager*in in Teilzeit (Universität zu Köln, Institut für Astrophysik; Stellenausschreibung, 10.1.22)
    Aufgaben: Netzwerkbildung, Koordination, Kommunikation, Testen neuartiger Methoden mit Schwerpunkt CCAT-prime und SOFIA)
  • Wissenschaftler*in  (Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, Institut für Visual Computing)
    Aufgaben: Forschung in den Bereichen Großdatenanalyse und wissenschaftliche Visualisierung, Beantragung und Koordination von Drittmittelprojekten und Drittmitteleinwerbung; Vernetzungsaktivitäten mit den anderen Teilnehmern des B3D (ab 1.9.2022).

Ein Hintergrund in Astronomie und/oder Datenwissenschaft ist wünschenswert, aber bitte entnehmen Sie die Einzelheiten zu jeder Stelle den einzelnen Anzeigen. Für Anfragen zu den einzelnen Stellenausschreibungen wenden Sie sich bitte an die auf dieser B3D Website angegebenen Kontaktpersonen oder schreiben Sie uns: jobs@b3d.nrw. Wir begrüßen ausdrücklich Bewerbungen auf mehrere der o.g. Stellen gleichzeitig.

Der B3D-Cluster ist bestrebt, den Anteil von Menschen mit Behinderungen in seiner Belegschaft zu erhöhen und fordert daher qualifizierte Bewerber auf, sich zu bewerben. Darüber hinaus streben wir eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils in Bereichen an, in denen Frauen unterrepräsentiert sind und fordern daher Frauen ausdrücklich zur Bewerbung auf. Wir bieten einen Dual Career Service an.

Weitere Stellenangebote

Zur Stärkung der Aktivitäten des VdR ist an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin am Fachbereich Informatik, Kommunikation und Wirtschaft zum 1. Oktober 2022  eine Professur (W2) im Fachgebiet Big Data und Maschinelles Lernen zu besetzen: Stellenausschreibung.